WCI President’s Awards Winners (2017) - 9ICI, Doha, Qatar

1. Van Zyl de Villiers (Director, IAEA)

Mr. de Villiers was employed by the South African Nuclear Energy Corporation (NECSA) and its predecessors from 1979 to 2013 in various roles: initially research scientist and later a range of senior and executive management positions. The latter included R&D, nuclear services, business development, international collaboration, performance and strategy.

2. Myung-Chul Lee (President, KAST)

He is currently president of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology (KAST), and previously he served as president of the Korea Armed Forces Capital Hospital, president of the Korea Association for Radiation Application (KARA), president of the World Council for Isotopes (WCI), and subcommittee chair of the Presidential Advisory Council on Science and Technology (PACST). He also served as the president of World Federation of Nuclear Medicine and Biology.

3. Henri Bonet (Executive Committee member of WCI)

From 1997 to 2008, Henri Bonet was CEO of the National Institute for Radioelements (IRE) in Belgium, one of the world leaders for production of medical radioisotopes and for environmental monitoring systems. Following that, he became Senior Advisor to his successor before retiring in July 09.

4. Division of Physical and Chemical Science (IAEA)

The Division of Physical and Chemical Sciences (IAEA) is responsible for carrying out Agency activities to assist and advise Member States (MS) in assessing their needs for capacity building and research and development in the nuclear sciences

5. TRIUMF, ITAP Consortium

TRIUMF is Canada’s national laboratory for particle and nuclear physics, which is owned & operated by a consortium of 18 universities. Together with its partner AAPS, Inc., TRIUMF also seeks to commercialize its technologies for the benefit of all Canadians.